AERAP briefing on EU support for science and innovation with Africa, 18 November 2020, online

AERAP, the Africa-Europe science platform, will organise a briefing on EU support for cooperation with Africa on science, R&D innovation and education for the period 2021 to 2027. The briefing will take place online on Wednesday, 18 November 2020.

AGENDA 18th November 2020

10h00       Introduction and welcome

Declan Kirrane, AERAP Coodinator

10h15           Perspectives Africa-EU science and innovation cooperation

Maria Cristina Russo Director for International Cooperation in Research and Innovation, European Commission

Mahama Ouedraogo Director of Human Resources, Science and Technology Department, African Union Commission

10h30         European Commission presentations EU-Africa science collaboration

Nienke Buisman: DG Research and Innovation (RTD)

Thierry Barbe DG Development and Cooperation (DEVCO)

Graham Wilkie DG Education and Culture (EAC)

Mauro Facchini DG Defence Industry and Space (DEFIS)

Liliana Pasecini Inter-institutional, International Relations and Outreach, DG JRC

Denis Dembois DG Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs (GROW)

12h30           EU Africa Strategy

Lora Borissova: Cabinet Commissioner Urpilainen, International Partnerships

12h45         Strategic Forum on International Cooperation on Science and Technology (SFIC)

Martina Hartle Department International Research Cooperation and Science Diplomacy, Federal Ministry for Education, Science and Research, Austria

13h00         Break

14h00         European External Action Service (EEAS)

Jan Marco Müller Science and Technology Advisor

14h15          European Cooperation in Science and Technology (COST)

Ronald de Bruin, Director, COST Association

14h30       Maria João Pinto Counsellor at the Cabinet of the Minister of Science, Technology and High Education

14h45         Carlos Zorrinho MEP, Chair, European Parliament Delegation to the Africa, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly

15h00        James Kasigwa Chair of the African Union-European Union High-Level Policy Dialogue on Science and Technology, Uganda

15h15          Marcel Tanner High Representative for Europe, European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP)

15h30           Jamal Mimouni President AfAS, African Astronomical Society

15h45           Juan Miguel González-Aranda LifeWatch ERIC, EU-AFRICA Green Deal collaboration on Biodiversity & Climate Change

16h00         TBD The Square Kilometre Array Telescope (SKA)

16h15          Martha Phiri Director for Human Capital Youth and Skills Development, African Development Bank

16h30          Daan Du Toit DDG: International Cooperation and Resources Department of Science and Innovation, South Africa

16h45         Discussion

17h00         Conclusion